top of page
Search

Needlepoint Hat Patch

Over the summer, I was browsing my Joann Fabrics and noticed that Comfort Colors makes hats. They were 25% off and ended up at around $7, so I picked one up and planned to embroider something on it, thinking I would embroider some flowers or the outline of the state of North Carolina. All of my sorority t-shirts are Comfort Colors, so I guessed that the hats would be just as comfortable and they are!



After scrolling through Instagram, I realized that I could use some inspiration from this super cute patch idea and make a needlepoint hat patch! I was in Chapel Hill for a weekend with some blank canvas and my zipper pouch of Perle Cotton and came home with the outline of a patch, which I used as my introduction into using the binding stitch.


The patch was freehanded, with the design chosen as I stitched, and then when finished, I attempted using the binding stitch on all edges. I found it difficult around the corners, but I added a few extra whip stitches when finished to help preserve those edges.


With our sewing machine, I stitched it onto the hat with clear thread and was ready to finish off summer in the shade!


82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hello, from H!

Hannamade by HMD is one of my greatest passions, where I can design and stitch needlepoint canvases that are reflective of myself and those around me. I draw my inspiration from my Instagram feed, whe

bottom of page